Independent sustainability board

SkyNRG has an independent Sustainability Board that provides strategic guidance on wide-ranging sustainability issues. We have representatives from organizations like the European Climate Foundation, World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) and the University of Groningen.

How it works

The Board advises on all aspects related to social and environmental sustainability, including the types of feedstocks used, R&D projects, DSL development, policy implications and growth strategies. In the case of advice on new feedstock opportunities, SkyNRG’s Europe and US based Sustainability Boards follow a clear and elaborate procedure which guides their advice. SkyNRG may continue with a specific feedstock opportunity, new supplier or supply chain project when the Sustainability Board has given positive advice.

The European Sustainability Board Members

André Faaij

André Faaij (Utrecht University)

Director of Science TNO Energy Transition, Professor Energy System Analysis

Gert van der Bijl

Gert van der Bijl (Solidaridad Network)

Global Programme Manager Livestock & Leather

Pete Harrison

Pete Harrison (Environmenal Defense Fund)

Executive Vice President, Regions


James Reeler (WWF South Africa)

Senior Climate Specialist


The U.S. Sustainability Board Members

Barbara Bramble

Barbara Bramble (National Wildlife Federation)

Vice President, International Conservation and Corporate Strategies

Kevin Fingerman

Dr. Kevin Fingerman (Humboldt State University)

Associate Professor of Environmental Science & Management

John Holler

John Holler (WWF)

Senior Program Officer of Climate Cooperation and Sustainable Fuels